Here you can find a brief timeline of key dates from the creation of our academic health science centre.

October 2007 – Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust is launched, becoming the UK’s largest acute NHS trust and, in partnership with Imperial College London, the UK’s first AHSC.

April 2009 – Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust and Imperial College London officially recognised as a Department of Health designated AHSC, in the first national competition.

April 2014 –  Following an open competition, Imperial College AHSC is one of six AHSCs in England to be designated for 2014-19.

June 2016 – Royal Marsden and Royal Brompton & Harefield NHS Foundation Trusts sign the AHSC joint working agreement and became members of the Imperial College AHSC.

August 2019 – The Institute of Cancer Research (ICR) joined the Imperial College AHSC

March 2020 – Designated as one of eight NIHR-NHS England/Improvement Academic Health Science Centres in England for 2020-2025

July 2020 – Chelsea & Westminster NHS Foundation Trust joined the Imperial College AHSC